What are the DUI Penalties in Georgia?
The DUI penalties in Georgia depend on whether this is your first offense, second offense, third offense and so on. Further, other factors include age, your class of driver’s license and your driving history will affect the sentence. Although there are many factors that can affect the penalties for DUI, one thing remains the same, the penalties can be major in your life. The Athens GA DUI lawyer at Fargione, Thomas & McRae has the experience to help you understand the basic penalties or consequences you may be facing if you are convicted of a DUI in Georgia.
Note: This DUI Guide applies to drivers 21 years old and older
First DUI Conviction Penalties
- Your First time DUIs require a minimum fine of $300, however, most courts require a fine of $600-$800 for a first time DUI conviction. In addition, the court will add surcharges which result in the fine being doubled from the base fine amount. These fines are payable over the course of probation.
- 40 hours of community service is required
- You will also be required to be on supervised probation for at least 12 months. The court may allow you to report by telephone if you live a far distance away.
- Your license will be suspended for at least 120 days. However, if you are a Georgia license holder, you may be eligible for a limited driving permit that will allow you to drive to and from work.
- You may have to submit to a drug and alcohol evaluation with a licensed professional. Any treatment the counselor recommends will be incorporated into your sentence and attendance at future treatment sessions will be mandated by probation.
- You will have to enroll and complete DUI School (often referred to as Risk Reduction).
- Required to serve a minimum of 24 hours in jail.
Second DUI Within 5 Years
- The fine will range between $600.00 to $1000.00 plus court costs and surcharges.
- 240 hours of community service is required.
- You will be on supervised probation for 12 months.
- Your license will be suspended for 120 days with no eligibility for a limited permit. After 120 days, you may be eligible for a limited work permit.
- You will be required to have met the conditions for a limited permit. Those conditions are completing DUI school, installing an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, and enrollment in a qualified treatment program.
- You must surrender the license plates to any vehicle registered in your name.
- Yes, You will have to serve a minimum of 3 days in jail.
- Then You will have to attend and complete DUI school.
- At last, You will have your photo published in the local newspaper.
Second DUI Within 10 years
- The fine can be anywhere between $300 and $1000.
- You will be required to perform a minimum of 40 hours of community service
- A minimum of 12 months of probation.
- Georgia driver’s license suspension of at least 120 days. You may be eligible for a work permit if you are a Georgia driver’s license holder.
- Substance Abuse and alcohol evaluations
- DUI School
- In addition, it is likely that the prosecutor will ask for more jail time, community service and probation depending on the circumstances of your case.
Third DUI Within 5 years
- Required to serve a minimum of 15 days in jail, but most jurisdictions require more jail time.
- The fine can range between $1000.00 and $5000.00 plus surcharges.
- 240 hours of community service.
- Drug and alcohol evaluation
- DUI School
- 5-year license revocation, with eligibility for a limited driving permit after two years.
- Surrender all license plates on vehicles that are registered in your name.
- Your photo will be published in the local newspaper/Bad-N-Busted.
Call for Experienced DUI Advice Today!
DUI in the State of Georgia is serious business that not only may affect your ability to drive but could also mean serious jail time. Speak with our experienced Athens GA DUI lawyer who can help you navigate the legal process so that together you can arrive at the best result in your case.
Georgia Department of Driver Services